HOW TO BOUNCE BACK LIKE A BOSS

This year, like every year…I sat down and wrote down my resolutions. Yes…I did. I called myself for a meeting, we sat down me, myself and I. In this meeting, a few things came up:

  1. Despite writing down my resolutions every year, I usually accomplish about 40% of them, so something has to give this year.
  2. We are past saying ‘I’m young and I still have time’.  Not even the next minute is promised to me. So grab every opportunity to grow.

So I decided, sorry WE decided, that we’d be doing our resolutions quarterly. * insert cheers here*  I know, WE are pretty excited about it, however the pressure to deliver in 4 months is real.  Between working with my team and working on my vision of Cynthia Mwangi, there is really no time to waste.

But the one who does not know and does things deserving punishment will be beaten with few blows. From everyone who has been given much, much will be demanded; and from the one who has been entrusted with much, much more will be asked. Luke 12:48

(David Muriithi, thank you for this reminder)

That being said, A couple of months back I had the pleasure of moderating a panel during  ASENTI 2016 at USIU. And it was important for me to find out as much as I could about the panelists. One of them was Chris Mureithi, who had been featured on Engage Talk –  The bi-monthly Engage platform focuses on the power of engagement to foster learning and transform minds and lives.  I watched a few more but I loved Beatrice Imathiu’s story.  She took me on a journey of her life. Her highs, her lows, her really highs and really lows. It cant get more real than this.  We Fall. We Rise. We Soar. She had it all but she dared to want more.

A few things I’ve learnt about bouncing back like a boss :

  1. Have a strong support system. (She was kicked out, out of love you know) It will get you through tough times. We are not islands.
  2. Celebrate little wins, appreciate the good things in life. Be grateful for what you have constantly, you’ll notice not everything is going wrong.
  3. Look for growth opportunities constancy. You don’t want to be caught in a failure rant. Keep yourself going, no matter what happens.
  4. Failure does not  reflect who you are.
  5. Trust the process.

Happy watching!

and being the Kenyan I am, Happy new year!

 

 

Was this article helpful? Leave a comment below , on twitter @ythera_mwangi or on facebook Cynthia ythera Mwangi.

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. fauzia says:

    I like your articel. And i agree when we fall, we must bounce back like a boss. Thanks

Leave a comment